Blueberry Cobbler

Blueberry Cobbler

I have never had blueberry pie, cobble or crisp so what better reason to try it out! I call this blueberry cobbler with a twist because it’s almost a cobbler but reads like a pie or a crisp. I guess it’s the best of both worlds! I didn’t add too much sweetener to this so if you prefer a sweeter filling go ahead and add another tablespoon or two of coconut sugar or your sweetener of choice!

Crisp, tart and sweet oozing blueberry sauce with a crunchy pie crust!

Blueberry Cobbler

I think this would taste amazing fresh out of the oven topped with some vanilla vegan ice cream or even some coconut whipped cream and more blueberries! The more the merrier! I believe I can now understand why people love pie so much! I have unfortunately never tried much of any pie beyond the traditional apple and it causes me to question why?! It might be that my love of chocolate always supersedes whatever else there is to try but fresh fruit wins over chocolate any day!

Blueberry Cobble

What kind of pies do you guys recommend trying? I think I just might go on a pie making craze to make up for all the years I missed out on haha!

Blueberry Cobbler

Blueberry Cobbler Twist for Four

  • 1 ½ cups blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons coconut sugar (you can add more if you like but I don’t like it too sweet)
  • 2 tablespoons non-dairy milk
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/ 2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ginger

Crust

  • ¾ cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons cold vegan butter, diced
  • 1 tablespoon of non-dairy milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°F.

For the dough, mix together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt and using a fork  or pastry cutter cut in the butter until its pea sized and then add the milk and slightly knead until it JUST comes together.

Refrigerate until you’re done putting together the blueberry cobbler mixture.

Mix the blueberries with the rest of the ingredients until well combined and coated completely. Evenly dish out the mixture into four butter coated ramekins.

Roll out the dough until at least a ¼ inch thick and cut into twelve even strips and then cut those in half. Lay down three strips vertically and then three horizontally over those and brush with melted butter.

Place the ramekins on a baking sheet and baked for 15-20 minutes or the blueberries start bubbling and the crust has turned a slight golden brown.

Eat alone or serve warm with some vegan ice cream!

